The Light (A Short Story)

Here’s one awesome short story. It touched my heart deep.

Mindworks

Harry’s brown eyes sparkled with glee as he watched his squealing three-year old daughter run after a Black Labrador. He still looked the same like the last time I saw him, except his body had become leaner and muscular. His wife sat beside him on the park’s bench, whispered something to his ear and they both laughed. They looked good together.

Staring at them under the shade of an oak tree, I swallowed the lump in my throat. I fought the feeling of pain and envy budding in my chest.

I wished I were his wife.

They stayed a few minutes more before they stood up and walked away, hand in hand. He seemed happy and though it was painful to watch, there was only one thing left for me to do—I had to let him go. I closed my eyes and let my mind savor the memories.

****

2,160-2,220…

View original post 1,503 more words

Leave a Reply

