Eyes Behind Shutter: A Look at Mykie’s View of the World

I always say that inspiration comes in many forms. Yet most of the times, I forget what it actually means.

As a writer, I force myself to look at the world differently. It is a gift, as many people say, but for someone who doesn’t have the luxury of time or someone who has had too many experiences that contradict the saying that life is what you make it to be, it is a gift still waiting to be unwrapped.

In the second half of 2013, a sudden and unexpected change has happened in my life. I moved on to a new job while writing my novels, and met quite a few people who are expected to actually leave a mark. One of them is a man I never thought I would actually come to know as a great friend. And wouldn’t you know it… he actually shared an interest I had long buried in search for what I actually thought I needed. Through him, I have found myself inspired to write differently… and of course to see the world in a new light.

Photo Credits: For Research

Mykie Ibarra: Photographer / Creative Director

Mykie Ibarra is not – and I mean NOT – your typical artist, creative thinker or director. Of the many things one could describe a man in love with the arts, he is but the quiet type. Then again, you can never judge a man by what your eyes could see, let alone what your ears could hear, whenever you listen to him talk or joke around. Needless to say, I often think one would be happier to know him more by what his photos reveal, and perhaps learn that the heart could feel just by perceiving.

I am not sure why you do not wish to set up a blog (you are too modest), but I hope you won’t hate me for putting up some of the photographs I think could win you your deserved recognition as a photographer. (Surprise! I know you won’t hate me. You are too kind and too nice for that. Haha. Or not. Either way, surprise!)

Mykie Ibarra

Mykie Ibarra

Hues of Daybreak

Hues of Daybreak

Amidst the Fallen

Amidst the Fallen

Baywalk at Sunset

Baywalk at Sunset

I have always wanted to travel. It is something that I don’t have that much resources for, but something that I know I am going to push for this year. Maybe I will start with Sagada. He once said to me that I have to travel alone and see at least my own country, doing it for myself than to forget about this pain I am currently going through. I think I am going to do that… yet with friends for starters. Baby steps.
I Alone

I Alone

Lake Sebu

Lake Sebu

Gui-Ob Church Ruins

Gui-Ob Church Ruins

Banaue

Banaue

Banaue

Banaue

Mykie Ibarra

Mykie Ibarra

Pan-Ay. Biggest Church Bells in the Philippines

Pan-Ay. Biggest Church Bells in the Philippines

Magayon Festival

Magayon Festival

Mykie Ibarra

Mykie Ibarra

Mykie Ibarra

Mykie Ibarra

Palawan Provincial Capitol

Palawan Provincial Capitol

Perhaps then, I would see the world differently, feel my life differently, and treat others differently.

Lutong Bahay (Home-Cooked)

Lutong Bahay (Home-Cooked)

Mykie Ibarra

Mykie Ibarra

Proper Cropping

Proper Cropping

Pineapple

Pineapple

Mykie Ibarra

Mykie Ibarra

De-Padyak (Peddled)

De-Padyak (For Pedaling)

Palawan Provincial Capitol

Palawan Provincial Capitol

Mykie Ibarra

Mykie Ibarra

Aeta

Aeta

Mykie Ibarra

Mykie Ibarra

I have not worked with him that long enough yet to write about him more. Yet, I know that whether he stays with the team or not, he has already fulfilled a purpose in me without knowing. He has already given me something I know I would cherish for the rest of my life… a more positive and colorful view of the world.

Blue Hour

Blue Hour

Mykie Ibarra. Photo by KZ Riman

Mykie Ibarra. Photo by KZ Riman

Mykie at Work. Photo by KZ Riman

Mykie at Work. Photo by KZ Riman

Full Circle by Mykie Ibarra

Full Circle by Mykie Ibarra

Walk with Me by Mykie Ibarra

Walk with Me by Mykie Ibarra

Thanks for being a great friend, Mykie!

One comment

Leave a Reply

