I Used to Belong

I used to belong with the wind and I flew.

My wings had been spread and I knew what to do.

But I trusted then, none but the falsest sides.

And ended up doubting myself; I did nothing but hide.

I used to belong with the oceans and the tides.

I rode each surface and I rode it with pride.

But then I wobbled and sat quickly so as not to slide.

And ended up choosing the easy way to swim and stride.

I used to belong with the earth and was strong.

My heart was dug deep and I was never wrong.

But then I swayed, in a moment of prong.

And ended up brooding; I had forgotten my song.

I used to belong with the flames and I blazed.

There was nothing in the heat that could keep me away.

But then I started burning my skin and I splayed.

To the truth I had mistakenly averted my gaze.

I used to belong to myself and I stood high.

I was someone I believed in, even when they all sighed.

Was that my bitter end? I got wounded and almost died.

No. I shall get up in a second to yell again my battle cry.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

