Sunday Night Comfort Food

2013-06-16 19.48.39(pardon the picture quality. sister took off with camera.)

So this is why I never get slim! Here’s my Sunday night comfort menu:

1. Homemade Mini Tacos

2. Homemade Spaghetti

3. Isaw (chicken intestine)

Yap. You read it right! Chicken intestines.

Isaw is actually considered a street food in the Philippines. While many consider it a great comfort food, there are still a great number of people who wrinkle their noses in distaste as to the issue of hygiene. After all, it takes a lot of guts to digest those kinds of food. (Am I right? Haha, okay, that’s not funny.)

I am one of those many people, who tend to enjoy life too much when it comes to eating. I enjoy isaw with my sister and my brother-in-law almost on a daily basis since our neighbor, Aling Mida, cleans the intestines and then cooks them, herself. We need not worry about how clean it is.

Each of the intestines have to be cleaned by turning it inside-out a lot of times, then boiled or cooked in soy sauce and other spices, and then grilled. Once grilled to your liking, the isaw is dipped into vinegar first then a special sauce or straight into the sauce.

It’s yummy, actually.

I will upload better pictures of ISAW soon. Then I will show you BALUT eggs (duck embryos eaten straight from the shells). Yumm!!!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

